The Player of the Year Award is a trophy presented to the A Grade player who, in the opinion of the captain(s), has made the most outstanding on-field contributions for the season.
Votes are allocated match-by-match and the voting system is identical to the one used in deciding the Most Valuable Player Award, differing in that it only covers A Grade matches.
Votes are awarded for on-field performances and are at the captain's disgression.
The voting scheme is as follows:
(1) For seasons up to and including 2003/04:
Up to 5 votes may be allocated to players. Any given player may receive up to 2 votes and the captain need not allocate all 5 votes if he feels that the overall team performance does not warrant it.

(2) For seasons from 2004/05 and thereafter:
Votes are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis.
1982/83 John Anderson
1983/84 Ray Carpenter
1984/85 Roger Mableson
1985/86 Roger Mableson
1986/87 Richard McDonough
1987/88 Peter Craig
1988/89 Kym Knuckey
1989/90 Michael Helbig
1990/91 Brian Dennison
1991/92 Kym Knuckey
1992/93 Tom Hagley
1993/94 Darren Cheek
1994/95 Darren Cheek
1995/96 Darren Cheek
1996/97 Adam Maddison
1997/98 Tim Hanna
1998/99Mark Eglinton
1999/00Damien Trus
2000/01Paul Magarey
2001/02Andrew Langmaid
2002/03Daniel Jenkinson
2003/04Russell King & Paul Magarey
2004/05Daniel Jenkinson
2005/06Daniel Jenkinson
2006/07Daniel Jenkinson
2007/08Sam Cheek
2008/09Sam Cheek
2009/10Sam Cheek & Josh Lourens
2010/11Josh Lourens
2011/12Josh Lourens
2012/13Max Cheek
2013/14Anthony Muggridge
2014/15Rahsaan Oakey
2015/16Anthony Muggridge
2016/17John Zadow
2017/18Joseph Zadow
2018/19Gareth Bruce
2019/20Jai Koirala
2020/21Sam Cheek